Gov. Rick Snyder makes appointments, reappointment to the Michigan Board of Counseling
February 20, 2022

Gov. Rick Snyder makes appointments, reappointment to the Michigan Board of Counseling

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Vel ut congue varius congue aliquet leo. Netus neque nibh semper in diam viverra nibh.

Friday, July 28, 2017

LANSING, Mi – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Therese Empie of White Late and Harold Love of Clarkston, as well as the reappointment of LuAnn Hurd of Hudson to the Michigan Board of Counseling.

The nine-member board assists the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs with the licensing and oversight of more than 9,000 counselors in Michigan.

“I am confident these individuals will use their collective experience to serve this board well and oversee the counseling profession in Michigan,” Snyder said.


Empie is a policy advisor in the Executive Office of Governor Rick Snyder. She holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan and a master of public policy from the University of Michigan Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy. She will represent the general public and replace Sara Kruse.

Love is owner of Harold J Love, PLLC., and is a clinical and police therapist, with a concentration in critical stress management, crisis intervention, individual psychotherapy, and pre-employment psychological evaluations. He holds a bachelor’s degree and master’s degree from Siena Heights University. He will represent those engaged primarily in the administration of counseling services and replace Tracey Galgoci.


Hurd is a behavioral intervention specialist with Addison Community Schools, and is co-owner and family therapist at Creative Counseling Center. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Sienna Heights University and a master’s degree from Michigan State University. She will continue to represent individuals providing counseling techniques, behavior modification techniques or preventative techniques to clients.

Members will serve four-year terms expiring June 30, 2021. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

For more information, visit

get a free consultation

Want to learn more about our organization, services, and how we can help? Get a free consultation today!

Get In touch